Newly Created Advisory Commission on Human Relations and Disability Issues

Uified Government LogoThe Unified Government of Wyandotte County/Kansas City, Kansas Department of Human Services is pleased to announce the establishment of a Commission on Human Relations and Disability Issues for Wyandotte County. This new, all-inclusive commission will strive to develop programming that promotes good will, fosters mutual understanding, and encourages respectful and harmonious relations; and discourages prejudice, intolerance, bigotry, disorder, and discriminating practices against individuals and groups in areas including, but not limited to; race, gender, sexual preference or orientation, disability, ethnicity, religion, color, language, national origin, ancestry, or familial or socio-economic status. Having a volunteer organization of diverse community members charged with examining intergroup relations and promoting opportunities to bring people together can benefit our county’s cohesiveness and harmony.

The Department of Human Services is seeking volunteers from the community to step up and be willing to put their time and talent towards this vital community endeavor. Applications are being accepted through February 24th, 2017. The application is available online on the Human Services website under the Human Relations link or can be requested by phone or email by calling (91) 573-5502 or email at

To volunteer to serve on this commission, please fill out the application and submit it to Human Services by email at or by post at 701 N. 7th Street, Room 346, Kansas City, KS 66101 or by fax to (913) 573-5511. Questions can be directed to Sara Toms by email or phone at (913) 573-5504.

The Commission on Human Relations and Disability Issues shall be comprised of thirteen (13) members, all of whom must be residents of Wyandotte County, and the members shall participate in monthly meetings on the second Thursday of each month at 6 PM. Applications will be reviewed by the Unified Government Board of County Commissioners, the Mayor of Bonner Springs, and the Mayor of Edwardsville who shall appoint their respective members in accordance with the terms and requirements of the ordinance (Sec. 18-22).