WPC Plants Receive Peak Performance Awards

Water Pollution Control received four Peak Performance Awards for excellence in permit compliance. WPC was recognized by the National Association of Clean Water Agencies (NACWA) during their annual NACWA’s Conference. The four treatment facilities that received the prestigious honor for 2016 were:

  • Kaw Point received a Gold award
  • Plant 20 received the Silver award
  • Plant 14 received the Silver award
  • Wolcott received the Silver award

Peak Performance Award Categories and Honorees are as follows:

Platinum Awards Platinum Awards recognize 100% compliance with permits over a consecutive five-year period. Platinum Awards will be given to facilities with a consistent record of full compliance for a consecutive five year period

If 100% compliance is maintained beyond the initial award, Platinum Award status is continued. Should 100% compliance not be maintained, member agency facilities must receive four consecutive Gold Awards to again be eligible for another Platinum Award in their fifth year of compliance.

Gold Awards Gold Awards are presented to facilities with no permit violations for the entire calendar year.

Silver Awards Silver Awards are presented to facilities with no more than five violations per calendar year. All treatment facility applicants must be publicly owned by a current NACWA member agency and be in operation for at least one month or more during a calendar year. Treatment facilities must provide, at minimum, secondary treatment, or advanced primary treatment with a 301(h) waiver. Additionally, there are no facility capacity minimums for Peak Performance Award eligibility.